Memorial Day Weekend

 

We had a wonderful Memorial Day weekend!  On Friday evening, Tony took Andrew to baseball while Aidan and I took on a much needed project:

IMG_0630

Saturday morning we had a yard sale for a little while.  It didn’t do very well, but while we were hanging around outside I managed to get my “garden” planted in buckets, some flowers planted, and mulch around my roses.  Funny story – my blue rose has grafted itself to my knockout roses.  I am trying to start a couple of the blue roses on my own because the grafted ones have started turning pink like the knockout rose.  I’ll keep you posted on how that works out.

After the yard sale, we headed to Starlight, Indiana, for the Strawberry Festival.  Delicious food, and the boys love “racing” soapbox cars.

IMG_0635

After we left the festival, we stopped by Huber’s to do a wine tasting and pick up Erin’s box of wine from the wine club. Such a shame that she’s not living hear to get it herself  – LOL.  Andrew was so impressed with the big barrels of wine in the cellar.

 

IMG_0638

On our way out, there was a band playing in the courtyard.  Tony and Sophie stole a dance to the Tennessee Waltz in the rain.  Hey, missy, Daddy’s my waltz partner!

IMG_0640

 

Although we were exhausted, we had tickets to Abbey Road on the River, a Beatles Tribute music festival that goes on all of Memorial Weekend.  We took the kids, and they had a good time dancing, eating, listening to music.

IMG_0644

IMG_0646

 

We went back to Abbey Road on Sunday to see Herman’s Hermits and Peter Noone perform.  Tony had scored some meet-and-greet tickets and we met up with our friends the McGarveys.  The weather was perfect and the music was great, even if the picture didn’t turn out so well.  I think Peter Noone is looking for an escape route.

IMG_0662

For Memorial Day, we took the kids out to my parent’s “farm” (aka: 60 undeveloped acres).  They had a good time picnicking, hiking, and even helping a little with clearing trails.

IMG_0666

IMG_0667

IMG_0668

 

On our way home, my amazing hubby asked if I’d want to swing past the Mt. Tabor Cemetery in Ramsey.  I hadn’t been to my MeMe and great Aunt Verna’s graves since my aunt’s funeral in 2001.  I wasn’t 100% sure where it was, and I’m never really in Ramsey since it’s a good 30-40 minute drive in the country.  It was so nice to stop by, especially on Memorial Day.  I was glad to see that someone has kept flowers there.  MeMe was born in 1909 and was a teacher, and I know she’d be so proud of me and what I’ve accomplished.  I remember a few of her students showing up at her funeral and talking about her.  I miss all my grandparents and grandparent-in-laws.  I am so grateful to the ones who defended our country and the ones who held down the fort on the homefront.  It’s a generation we will never see again.

IMG_0670

Leave a Reply

