2013 Recap

I haven’t been the best blogger as 2013 came to a close.  I’m determined to do better in 2014.  But here’s a quick recap of everything that has kept me off the blog for the past three months. 2013 was a great year!

First of all, Tony and I climbed a mountain.  For real.   Nothing makes you feel like you can accomplish great things like climbing a mountain.  I actually did manage a blog post about that in July.

Here are the other reasons 2013 was amazing:

We went to Disney World over Fall Break in October with my parents and Tony’s mom.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

We also went to Universal Studios and met a minion!

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

The second half of Fall Break we discovered that we were expecting baby #4 in June 2014.  Although we didn’t share the news until Thanksgiving, we were so excited.  My holidays consisted of celebrating with this stuff:

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Andrew turned 10.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Halloween 2013:

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Aidan turned 9.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Thanksgiving happened:

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Sophie participated in her first DanceWorks Holiday Extravaganza as a Company Member.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

The Christmas season started and stayed busy.  We went to see the Grinch, played in the snow, and had our school’s annual Christmas program.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Aidan had his piano recital.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

After 6.5 long years, I finally graduated!  I defended my dissertation in October and although I could technically be called “doctor”, my degree wasn’t conferred until December 17th.  I’m having a hard time convincing my children to call me Dr. Mom.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Tony and my mom threw a party for me:

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

For the first time since ever, I enjoyed the holidays with no school work hanging over my head.  With the exception of one summer between my Masters and Ph.D., I have gone to school continuously since high school.

We spent the night before Christmas Eve making our traditional gingerbread house.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

We cleaned up pretty well for Christmas celebrations.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

We attended Midnight Mass and Aidan was honored with the job of placing baby Jesus in the manager.  He was so proud, and the only one of my kids awake to do it.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Especially exciting over Christmas was the chance to meet my niece, Gracelyn!  We’re so glad they were able to make it home for a visit.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Much to the disappointment of my children, we didn’t do anything for New Year’s eve.  We had plans, but I was sick the biggest part of the week so I just stayed in bed.  However, they are making up for it by getting two extra days of Christmas break.  That’s right – due to the extremely cold temperatures, the schools in Indiana have today and tomorrow off.  We’re making the most of it by doing nothing.  Today, we had chocolate chip waffles, blew frozen bubbles, and made hot cocoa and cookies.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

